MY Voice

Genesis 3:8 “And they heard the voice of the Lord God walking in the garden in the cool of the day: and Adam and his wife hid themselves from the presence of the Lord God amongst the trees of the garden.”

And they heard the Voice of the Lord God, walking in the garden in the cool of the day.

What a time of fellowship this could have been! Walking with the Lord God in the garden, talking and laughing.

(I would like to make something very clear to everyone here:
Do not let the Adversary of our souls, the devil, fool you in this.
God has always desired fellowship with His Creation.)

Isaiah 57:15 “For thus saith the high and lofty One that inhabiteth eternity, whose name is Holy, I dwell in the high and holy place, with him also that is of a contrite and humble spirit, to revive the spirit of the humble, and to revive the heart of the contrite ones.”
“I dwell in the high and holy place”. Of course He does, He is God.

But also “with him that is of a contrite and humble spirit”. Contrite means to bruise, or crush. Humble means to make low, to abase.
In other words, God is with those who have been bruised or crushed under the weight of their sins, and who abase or lower themselves from their pride; to come to Him and get forgiveness, and help.

This is what Adam and Eve should have done.

Genesis 3:8-9 “And they heard the voice of the Lord God walking in the garden in the cool of the day: and Adam and his wife hid themselves from the presence of the Lord God amongst the trees of the garden.
And the Lord God called Adam, and said unto him, Where art thou?”

Now God was not asking Adam where are you hiding? He knew that already.
But, “Where art thou?” in your relationship with Me?
In what shape are you now, in your standing with Me?

It was His Voice, not a thunderclap! It was His Voice, not the ground opening and swallowing them; sending them down to hell immediately.

But it was His Voice, and their day of reckoning.
What would they do? They had already sinned; would they seek His forgiveness? Or let pride get them to excuse themselves.

We sadly know what they chose. And it has been happening to every child of Adam and Eve, since then. Pride rules our hearts, until, when we hear God’s Voice speaking to us in our innermost being, and we give up our pride, and yield to Him.

But now, let me ask you: Where do you stand in the purpose for which you were created?
Are you hiding from the Lord in all the busy ways you can?
“But Lord, you can see I am very busy, covering myself with all sorts of good works. Does it matter that I may not be doing what You want me to?”

Bible Wisdom is of God. It is more than knowledge, it is a Light shining into the circumstances we are in, for us to know how to act; and it includes the power to act.

It is the Voice of God, the Creator, crying out to His creation, to give opportunity to have all that is included in true fellowship with Him.

Proverbs 1:20-23 “Wisdom crieth without; she uttereth her voice in the streets.
She crieth in the chief place of concourse, in the openings of the gate: in the city she uttereth her words saying,
How long, ye simple ones will ye love your simplicity? And the scorners delight in their scorning, and fools hate knowledge?
Turn you at my reproof: Behold, I will pour out my spirit unto you, I will make known my words unto you.”

“Turn you at My reproof”. When God reproves, it is so we can “Wake up”, and get back into His Way for us.

“Behold!”
Now stop! Take notice of this:
“I will pour out My Spirit unto you.” Notice: it is “unto you”. A very personal invitation to have the Holy Spirit poured into you, bubbling up, for guidance and help.

“I will make known My Words unto you.” Again, it is unto “you”; a personal call.
Will you hear, and have it?

The Voice of the Almighty Creator to His creature, offering wisdom and a personal relationship with Him, by His Spirit. This is His Voice to us, will we hear it?

You must hear Him in your personal circumstances; in your city, in your workplace, in your home.
He is not just in the Heavens, nor just in Church (although we should “not forsake the assembling of ourselves together”. Hebrew 10:25); but He is with us, as Christians, everywhere, all the time.
But have we hidden ourselves from Him?

(There is an old joke about a older couple who were driving along in their car, when they see a young couple: the young woman is seated right next to him in the front seat, while he is driving.
The older woman turned and asked her husband: “Why don’t we sit like that anymore?”
And he replied, “Well, I haven’t moved.”)

If we have hidden ourselves from Him, among any other false refuge; then return unto the Lord, for He abundantly kind. He will forgive.
He may rebuke us, for our foolishly letting other things take first place in our lives; but He will speak, and lead us on with Him. Out of the busy life of self; into the glorious life of Christ’s servant.

Psalms 143:8 “Cause me to hear thy loving kindness in the morning; for in thee do I trust: cause me to know the way wherein I should walk; for I lift up my soul unto thee.
Deliver me, O Lord, from mine enemies: I flee unto thee to hide me.
Teach me to do thy will; for thou art God: thy spirit is good; lead me into the land of uprightness.”

Will we hear His Voice to us?

 

Leave a Reply

