The Judgement Seat of Christ

1 Corinthians 3:13 “Every man’s work shall be made manifest: for the day shall declare it, because it shall be revealed by fire; and the fire shall try every man’s work of what sort it is.”

When we stand before Christ Jesus, in that day, the most important aspect of our service will not be how much we have done, but “of what sort it is”.

The most telling thing, will be our motives behind the work we have done for Christ.

So how shall our motives be seen?

1 Corinthians 3:10-15 “According to the grace of God which is given unto me, as a wise master builder, I have laid the foundation, and another buildeth thereon. But let every man take heed how he buildeth thereupon.
For other foundation can no man lay than that is lain, which is Christ Jesus.
Now if any man build upon this foundation gold, silver, precious stones, wood, hay, stubble;
Every man’s work shall be made manifest: for the day shall declare it, because it shall be revealed by fire; and the fire shall try every man’s work of what sort it is.
If any man’s work abide which he hath built thereupon, he shall receive a reward.
If any man’s work shall be burned, he shall suffer loss: but he himself shall be saved; yet so as by fire.”

The things of God in our life will come through as gold.
The things of Salvation which we have shown will come through as silver.
The people we have helped win to the Lord Jesus Christ (by prayer, witnessing, or leading them to the Lord), will come through the fire as precious stones.

But the selfish, and proud, and willful actions that we have taken, even though they are religious, will be burnt up as wood, hay and stubble.

The motives of our work and service God always sees. He is interested in Who we love.
If we love Him, all our service in obedience to Him, will be elevated to worship. (Which is really worthyship)

1 Corinthians 13:1 “Though I speak with the tongues of men and of angels, and have not charity (love), I am become as sounding brass, or a tinkling cymbal.”

Though I speak every language of this earth, and that of angels.
If I can express myself in all these languages to set forth the truth of God; if love to The Lord Jesus is not the compelling factor in my action:
I am so much noise.

1 Corinthians 13:2 “And though I have the gift of prophesy, and understand all mysteries, and all knowledge; and though I have all faith, so that I could remove mountains, and have not charity (love), I am nothing.”

If I have the highest gift of the Spirit: to know the mind of God and to speak it.

And understand all mysteries: those things hidden from the ages, to be revealed now.

And all knowledge: being able to set forth these great truths, in a way all might understand.

And have all faith: so that I could remove the mountains, or anything which might stand in the way of the Gospel.

AND HAVE NOT LOVE, I AM NOTHING.
My position before the Church counts as nothing before God, if I do not do what I am called, out of love for Him; but for some other reason.

1 Corinthians 13:3 “And though I bestow all my goods to feed the poor, and though I give my body to be burned, and have not charity (love), it profiteth me nothing.”

Though I give all that I possess to feed the poor, and my body to be burned in a martyr’s death, without love to Christ as the reason for doing it; it profits me nothing where God is concerned.

We see then that, at the Judgement Seat of Christ, where the born again ones will be judged; it will be our love to Him which comes through the fire.
Love in the work and service that He gives us; but love to Him will stand the fire.

All the other reasons for following Christ, and doing good works, will be burnt up:

There is the reason of getting blessed for it: a bargain of types. I do this for you, God, and You do this for me.

There is the reason of position: either in the Church or in the World. To look good before men.

There is the reason to be SOMEONE, even to yourself.

And there is the reason: He told me to do it, so I have to, or else.

Where do we fit in here?

Do you love God? Is He the goal for all your works? To please Him, because you love Him? Are you fond of remembering His love? Do you want to experience more of it?

Then consider your heart: Who sits on the throne of your heart? Is it a divided heart?
You want to please Christ Jesus, but you also want that attention, or prominence that these works gain you.

Give up that thought of “gain”, for the heart will eventually be pulled apart and become bitter, or will begin to give reasons why you can do what you want.

Matthew 16:26 “For whosoever will save his life shall lose it: and whosoever will lose his life for my sake shall find it.”

Someone has said: God’s love is like an Ocean. It is vast and beautiful. Powerful, and wide.
You can stand on the shore and look at it.
You can step in and out of it, staying on the shore.
Or you can get out into it, by the vessel of faith, and enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

