The Valley of Dry Bones.

Ezekiel 37:1 “The hand of the Lord was upon me and carried me out in the Spirit of the Lord, and set me down in the midst of the valley which was full of bones,”

Ezekiel is a captive of Babylon, and called to prophesy to the captives of Israel there. He has done so faithfully; rebuking the pride of Israel, and warning them to repent of their sin.

But he also tells the people of hope, if they do repent. This is one of these “hopes”.
The valley of dry bones was Israel:
Ezekiel 37:11 “Then he said unto me, Son of man, these bones are the whole house of Israel: behold, they say, are bones are dry, and our hope is lost: we are cut off from our parts.”

That was their state under the chastening hand of their God, but God also promises:

Ezekiel 37:12-14. “Therefore prophesy and say unto them, Thus saith the Lord God: behold, O my people, I will open your graves, and cause you to come up out of your graves, and bring you into the land of Israel.
And ye shall know that I am the Lord, when I have opened your graves, O my people, and brought you out of your graves.
And shall put my Spirit in you, and you shall live, and I shall place you in your own land: then shall ye know that I the Lord have spoken it, and performed it, saith the Lord.”

Ezekiel was sent to see a valley of dry bones. Israel was in just such a state. Dry, so dry that there was no life in them.
But God was not going to leave them in this state. He was going to revive them, and commanded Ezekiel to prophesy to these dry bones; for that was the means God was going to use to bring them back to life.
(How often we think the ministry of the Word of God; or the preaching of His Word, is useless. We see no immediate results. But God has said:
1 Corinthians 1:21 ” For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe.”)

Ezekiel 37:4 “Again he said unto me, Prophesy upon these bones, and say unto them, O ye dry bones, hear the word of the Lord.”

So Ezekiel, who had been faithful to his call to the people of Israel in captivity, speaks to a valley of dry bones.

Ezekiel 37:7-8 “So I prophesied as I was commanded: and as I prophesied, there was a noise, and behold a shaking, and the bones came together; bone to his bone.
And when I beheld, lo, the sinews and the flesh came upon them, and the skin covered them above: but there was no breath in them.”

To just look like you have life, without God’s Spirit, is still to be dead.
But God’s instruction to His prophet was not done:

Ezekiel 37:9 “Then said he unto me, Prophesy unto the wind, prophesy, Son of man, and say unto the wind, Thus saith the Lord God: Come from the four winds, O breath, and breathe upon these slain, that they may live.”

God does not do things in halves. His Purpose for His people in every age, is life. A life with Him.
Israel refused such a life, therefore they were driven out of the land God gave them, and were in a state of death, spiritually.
But now, God was going to revive them; through His Words, and by His Spirit.

Christ Jesus said when He was here:
John 3:7-8 “Marvel not that I said unto thee, Ye must be born again.
The wind bloweth where it listeth, and thou nearest the sound thereof, but canst not tell whence it cometh, and whither it goeth: so is every one that is born of the Spirit.”
(You can see the results of the wind: leaves blowing, things blowing in the wind; but you can not see the wind. To be born again is the same: you can see the results of the new birth within the life of a true Christian, but you can not see the Holy Spirit tangibly)
John 10:10 “The thief cometh not, but for to steal, and to kill, and to destroy: I am come that they might have life, and that they might have it more abundantly.”
John 11:25-26 “Jesus said unto her, I am the resurrection, and the life: he that believeth in me, though he were dead, yet shall live:
And whosoever liveth and believeth in me shall never die. Believest thou this?”

Again, Ezekiel obeyed God’s command:
Ezekiel 37:10 “So I prophesied as he commanded me, and the breath came into them, and they lived, and stood upon their feet, an exceeding great army.”

Real life comes through God’s Spirit coming within us, as He tells Ezekiel.

Ezekiel 37:13-14 “And ye shall know that I am the Lord, when I have opened your graves, O my people, and brought you out of your graves.
And shall put my Spirit in you, and ye shall live, and I shall place you in your own land: then shall ye know that I the Lord hath spoken it, and performed it, saith the Lord.”

God’s Purpose for His people in every age is life; His life, and a life with Him.

Romans 8:11 “But if the Spirit of him that raised up Jesus from the dead dwell in you, he that raised up Christ from the dead shall also quicken your mortal bodies by his Spirit that dwelleth in you.”

To have Spiritual Life, is to have His life, by the Spirit of God within you. He is there, and gives us a life full of peace, joy, strength, and purpose.
Even if you are as dry as this valley of dry bones, He can give you life, true life, in Christ Jesus.

Leave a Reply

