Wisdom from Above

James 1:5 “If any of you lack wisdom, let him ask of God, that giveth to all men liberally, and upbraideth not; and it shall be given him.”

Wisdom is from God and of God. Man gains knowledge, and can get very smart; but wisdom is only from God.

God says that if you don’t have the wisdom for this situation; you can ask Him. He will not rebuke you for not knowing, but will give you the wisdom you need.

James 1:17 “Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above, and cometh down from the Father of lights, with whom is no variableness, neither shadow of turning.”

God gives light, which is knowledge, and understanding. He shines His light on a situation, and the truth is seen. The way it really is; and how it really affects us.
Wisdom is that light so we know what to do, and wisdom also empowers us to do, as we yield to Him.
(I remember a situation where I was getting worked up about what I thought was going to happen. I imagined all sorts of scenarios in my head about what I would say in return, and what would ultimately happen. [Not good, I can tell you that].
“Ask the Lord!” It seemed like it was shouted in my ear. When I asked, He simply told me to stop worrying; that I was to stay out of any retaliation; in word, or action! That, in fact, I was to keep my big mouth shut, no matter what the other person said.
It worked! [should I have been surprised?]. God gave me wisdom: to know, and yes, to do.)
Wisdom for that situation is what we are to do about it, and the power to do it.
This He gives liberally, or generously. He is not a miser. He wants us to know His Will, and gives us what we need to find it out, and to do it.

James 3:17 “But the wisdom that is from above is first pure, then peaceable, gentle, and easy to be entreated, full of mercy and good fruits, without partiality, and without hypocrisy.”
Remember this comes from God, to you.
Wisdom is first, pure. There is no mixture of many opinions, but truth, plain and simple.

It is peaceable, gentle, and easy to be entreated. It seeks the good of all.

Full of mercy and good fruits. Forgives other people’s mistakes, and would help them set them right.

Without partiality, and without hypocrisy. Does not argue to win; or defraud another.

Proverbs 3:21-23, 26 “My son, let not them depart from thine eyes: keep sound wisdom and discretion:
So shall they be life unto thy soul, and grace to thy neck.
Then shalt thou walk in thy way safely, and thy foot shall not stumble.
For the Lord shall be thy confidence, and shall keep thy foot from being taken.”

This is wisdom; and God gives it to any who want it, abundantly.

Leave a Reply

