Are you Willing?

If any man will do His Will:

Matthew 16:24 “Then said Jesus unto his disciples,   If any man will come after me,  let him deny himself,  take up his cross and follow me.”

The are two things we need to know about the will.

First:  It is the faculty of choice:   To choose is to will.

We choose to do either the Lord’ s  Will,  or to do self-will;  which, since the fall, has been motivated by the Devil, and sin.

Second:  The will is the real power of our life.  What we will,  we do.      (Think weight loss.  Something I have wanted to do.   So I want,  which is my heart’s affection for, chips, candy, or that burger that is a foot high.  If I go along with my “want to”,  I. will eat it.        If I “deny myself”,  and go along with the head’s  “want to”  to lose weight;  I will refuse it.)

The will, wills;  and then we act.

Now when we think of doing God’s  Will,  it is the same principle.

We will with God, because our hearts want to please our Lord Jesus;  or our minds know He knows the best course of action for us.

Or,   We will with self,  because we wanted to do something else more (heart). Or thought our idea was better that God’s (head).

Jesus says the anwer to will,  if you are a Christian, and want His Will, is to deny yourself.

When the Lord’s Will and your will cross purposes,  then you deny yourself–say “no” to yourself, through the mind, and hearts affections for Jesus, and do His Will

As Christians we have the Holy Spirit within us; and He will bring His force of holiness and peace to influence the will.        He will not make us do;  but He influences our hearts and minds to convince the will to say “no” to self, and do God’s Will.

This is to deny self, and pick up our cross, and follow Him.     Your cross is anything that God will’s  that “crosses” our will; or our will does not want to do.

We are called to bear our cross, till we come to the place where we no longer resist His Will in anything.   Then we are surrendered to God.    That does not mean sinless perfection;  but it does mean that we will stop arguing about what we want;  for we have come to want the Lord’s Will above everything else.  We are being obedient to His Words to us.

John 15:9-11 “As the Father hath loved me, so have I loved you:  continue ye in my love.         If ye keep my commandments,  ye shall abide in my love;  even as I have kept my Father’s commandments,  and abide in his love.         These things have I spoken unto you,  that my joy might remain in you,  and that your joy might be full.”

As we do His Will,  we abide in Him, and He gives His joy to us.    As He says,  “Continue ye in my love.”    The closer we are to Him,  the more peace and joy we have in our lives.

Leave a Reply

